surf news - ritorna al sommario


Pubblicato in data: 12 Mar 2013

RAINBOW BAY, Queensland/Australia (Monday, March 4); Quarter finalists were decided in the Roxy Pro presented by Land Rover today with rounds two, three and four of the ASP Women’s World Championship Tour completed in pumping 1 to 1.5 metre plus waves on the Gold Coast. Reigning five time world champion Stephanie Gilmore (Aus), 3 time world champion runner up Sally Fitzgibbons (Aus), world no.4 Tyler Wright (Aus), tour rookie Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) and former world champion Carissa Moore (Haw) all advanced directly into the quarter finals with round three heat wins.

Defending Roxy Pro champion Gilmore was at her brilliant best to win her way into the quarterfinals. Local hero Gilmore, 25, traded blows with Hawaii’s Coco Ho for the round three win, with Brazil’s Silvana Lima conceding the heat with five minutes left to go. Ho and Lima forced into round four as Gilmore said that to advance directly into the quarterfinals was a bonus. Final results: Stephanie Gilmore – 17.96, Coco Ho – 17.33, Silvana Lima – 7.34.

Gilmore has drawn Hawaiian Alana Blanchard in their quarter final match-up.

South African ASP World Tour rookie, Bianca Buitendag upset world number two, Sally Fitzgibbons (Aus) in the non-elimination third round. Fitzgibbons, 22, dominated the heat until Buitendag, 19, found an excellent scoring ride in the final minutes. The Roxy Pro, presented by Land Rover, is Buitendag’s first appearance in a World Championship Tour event. Final results: Bianca Buitendag – 16.00, Sally Fitzgibbons – 15.34, Laura Enever – 11.90.

World number two Sally Fitzgibbons has rebounded in round four to secure a place in the quarterfinals after defeating America’s Lakey Peterson. Fitzgibbons was selective with her wave choice and posted a 7.67 and an 8.80 to secure the win. In a rematch Fitzgibbons will take on Buitendag in the quarter finals in her quest to win the Roxy Pro title.
World No.4 Tyler Wright (Aus) was the first surfer through to the quarterfinals of the Roxy Pro after defeating American Courtney Conlogue and Hawaii’s Alana Blanchard in the non-elimination third round of the Roxy Pro at Rainbow Bay on the Gold Coast. Conditions continued to improve throughout the day and offered plenty of scoring potential for Wright, who managed to hold off an in form Conlogue by .51 of a point. In her earlier round two match-up Wright eliminated wildcard, Dimity Stoyle, 21, (Aus) in a tight heat. In a dramatic finish, Stoyle posted a 7.60 in the final minutes of the heats and only required a 7.63 to overtake Wright. Final results: Tyler Wright - 14.67, Courtney Conlogue – 14.16, Alana Blanchard – 9.17.

Hawaii’s Carissa Moore put on a powerful display of surfing to defeat France’s Pauline Ado and American Lakey Peterson in the last heat of round three. Moore dominated the encounter from beginning to end and posted two excellent scores to take the win and advance through to the quarterfinals. Moore has drawn French surfer Pauline Ado in Quarterfinal four. Ado eliminated Laura Enever (Aus) in round four to keep her hopes alive in the Roxy Pro presented by Land Rover.

Blanchard progressed into the quarterfinals after winning an all-Hawaiian showdown with Coco Ho in round four. Despite posting the highest single-wave score of the event so far, Ho was unable to back up with another score to overtake 23 year-old Blanchard. The Kauaian surfer will next meet reigning world champion Steph Gilmore in Quarter Final two.

20 year-old Courtney Conlogue (USA) eliminated Silvana Lima (BRA) in round four. After a close encounter, Conlogue managed to hold off Lima, 28, and advance through to the quarter finals. Conlogue will now face Australia’s Tyler Wright in the QF1.

ASP injury wildcard Lima 28, (BRA) made her return to the competitive ranks in blazing form before she was eliminated by Conlogue from round four of the Roxy Pro presented by Land Rover. The Brazilian surfer ruptured her anterior crossed ligament in the Roxy Pro Quarter Finals last year to be sidelined for the past 12 months. Fellow South American Sofia Mulanovich (Peru) was also eliminated today from round two by Conlogue as well. Lima finished equal 9th overall with Mulanovich placing equal 13th.

Conditions will be re-accessed tomorrow morning at 6.30 am (AEST).

Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) 15.26 def. Paige Hareb (NZL) 12.10
Heat 2: Laura Enever (AUS) 12.50 def. Rebecca Woods (AUS) 12.50
Heat 3: Tyler Wright (AUS) 14.63 def. Dimity Stoyle (AUS) 14.60
Heat 4: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 15.43 def. Sofia Mulanovich (PER) 14.30
Heat 5: Alana Blanchard (HAW) 13.27 def. Malia Manuel (HAW) 8.50
Heat 6: Silvana Lima (BRA) 16.36 def. Sage Erickson (USA) 14.27


Heat 1: Tyler Wright (AUS) 14.67, Courtney Conlogue (USA) 14.16, Alana Blanchard (HAW) 9.17
Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 17.96, Coco Ho (HAW) 17.33, Silvana Lima (BRA) 7.34
Heat 3: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) 16.00, Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 15.34, Laura Enever (AUS) 11.90
Heat 4: Carissa Moore (HAW) 18.43, Pauline Ado (FRA) 13.20, Lakey Peterson (USA) 13.17


Heat 1: Coutney Conlogue (USA) 15.17, Silvana Lima (BRA) 14.16
Heat 2: Alana Blanchard (HAW) 17.87 Coco Ho (HAW) 17.30,
Heat 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 16.47 Lakey Peterson (USA) 12.80
Heat 4: Pauline Ado (HAW) 13:83 Laura Enever (AUS) 10:77


QF1 Tyler Wright (Aus) Vs. Courtney Conlogue (USA)
QF2: Stephanie Gilmore (Aus) Vs. Alana Blanchard (HAW)
QF3: Bianca Builendag (ZAF) Vs. Sally Fitzgibbons
QF4: Carissa Moore (Haw) Vs. Pauline Ado (FRA)


Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), TBD
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), TBD
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Nat Young (USA)
Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Owen Wright (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Glenn Hall (IRL)

« Ritorna al sommario

Credits | Privacy/Disclaimer